Skip to content

Sweet Success – Two fantastic reviews

December 3, 2007

A big

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

to my reviewers!

I sent the galley proof version of ‘Captain’s Surrender’ out to various websites to see if they fancied reviewing it prior to its release. That way people would have an idea what it was about and whether it was any good before they bought it.

Wow! I’m absolutely over the moon about the two I’ve received so far.

From Erastes at Speak It’s Name

Now this is what I’m talking about. If you want a taste of what floats my boat when it comes to gay historical fiction, (no pun intended), then this is it.

Read the whole review HERE

From Lee Benoit at Rainbow Reviews

Thrilling! On every level, Captain’s Surrender is thrilling. Alex Beecroft spins image, voice, character, setting, and story into a captivating whole, accomplishing the rare feat of inducing in the reader a forgetfulness that we are, indeed, reading…

I said at the beginning of this review that Captain’s Surrender thrilled me. It satisfied a craving I’ve had for decades, for a certain kind of book, the kind that’s so seldom written it’s an almost violent surprise when one crosses my path. It drilled right down to the bedrock of my psyche, dug out that part of me that whiled away childhood afternoons with elaborate seagoing, swashbuckling epic fantasies, then set it in the sunshine beside my adolescent longing for a more bent, more tolerant world. Add to that damned good writing to satisfy an adult self with high standards and broad tastes, and you’ve got a keeper. And something to recommend with impunity.

Read the whole review HERE

To say I’m chuffed would be understating the issue 🙂 I am absolutely on cloud 9!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. HMS dauntless permalink
    December 3, 2007 4:20 pm

    Congratulations for the wonderful (but totally deserved) recs and additional congratulations for the extra-classy blog. Your banner is just a thing of beauty ! 🙂
    I fear I will pester you a lot for info and help during the next weeks… 😉

  2. December 3, 2007 5:44 pm

    Thank you! I am *really* happy with them both. I couldn’t imagine a better review than Lee Benoit’s, in fact. And I agree with what Erastes said about it showing that I had to compress it to fit it in the wordcount. It could have been better if I’d had more words!

    *g* Glad you like the blog 🙂 I admit I’m quite pleased with it. The header is from a picture I found on this site of copyright free art. I thought it could easily be an illustration of the Indomitable in the process of sinking after she’d been rammed by Josh in the Macedonian 🙂

    Pester away 🙂 I’ll be glad to help.

  3. HMS dauntless permalink
    December 3, 2007 5:54 pm

    Any idea why my avatar appears in the comments (provided it appears at all) but not in the recent comments column on the main page of my own blog ? And is it normal that, after you’ve uploaded the image, it needs from minutes to a whole hours to actually show ?

  4. December 3, 2007 7:43 pm

    Hm, no that doesn’t sound normal at all. You uploaded the picture via the ‘your profile and personal options page?’ All I can suggest is seeing what happens if you delete that one and try to upload something different. It might be the wrong size or aspect ratio, I guess 🙂

  5. dauphinsaves permalink
    December 4, 2007 12:21 am

    Congratulations on the great reviews! They don’t surprise me at all. (And it sounds like a wonderful book!)

    😀

  6. December 4, 2007 11:21 am

    Hee! Thank you 🙂 You’ve probably read most of it already, however. Though it has been substantially changed since then!

  7. Idetrorce permalink
    December 15, 2007 4:36 pm

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  8. December 15, 2007 5:49 pm

    Don’t agree with me about what, Idetrorce? I’m at a loss.

  9. HMS dauntless permalink
    December 17, 2007 1:47 pm

    Do not mind the comment by Idetrorce. It seems is sort of a spam comment that is appearing on all types of blogs.

  10. December 17, 2007 2:11 pm

    Thanks Dauntless! Have you been having it then too? I got the same comment on a different post, so the second time I just deleted it and marked it as spam. I hope that will be the end of it! Honestly do people have nothing else to do? How very sad 😉

  11. HMS dauntless permalink
    December 18, 2007 6:55 am

    No, I had it not personally, but I happened to read about it while web-surfing. I wonder if, rather than the disturbing and useless action of a single troublemaker, it’s a subtle way to check for active and inactive blogs and forums…

Leave a Reply

